2015 RTDNAC/AP Awards contest

RTDNAC and The Associated Press have teamed up for an expanded awards contest, recognizing the best of TV, radio and website work in North Carolina and South Carolina.

RTDNAC continues to recognize the work of professionals and students in the Carolinas combined, while AP offers awards in three categories for each state.

  • The contest is open to all stations and individuals in the following divisions:


    All stations in North Carolina and South Carolina.

    TV Division I

    Stations with 20 or more full-time employees operating in these markets: Charlotte, Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point, Raleigh-Durham, Greenville-Spartanburg, Asheville and Columbia. Public television also will compete in this division. Stations in these markets with fewer than 20 full-time news staff have the option to compete in Division II.

    TV Division II

    All other stations. News departments in these markets with news staffs of 20 or more full-time employees have the option of competing in Division I.

    Students (RTDNAC awards contest only)

    All college students studying journalism and/or broadcasting at a college or university in North Carolina or South Carolina.

  • The entry period opens March 15. The entry deadline is Aug. 15 for professionals and Sept. 15 for students.

  • The entry fee is $25 per entry for professionals and $10 per entry for students.

  • For entries to be considered in the competition, online payments must be made by the deadline. Mailed payments must be postmarked by the deadline.

  • Entries must have aired between July 1, 2014 and June 30, 2015.

  • The same entry may be submitted for consideration for both RTDNAC and AP awards.

  • For RTDNAC, a particular entry may only be submitted in one RTDNAC category.

  • Simulcast material must be entered under the medium of origination.

  • There is no limit on the number of entries a station or school may submit in each category.

  • Entrants must submit only one URL to their piece in the designated space on the online entry form. URLs may be from a station website or streaming social media site, such as YouTube or Vimeo.

  • Links that might require media be downloaded to a computer (e.g., Dropbox) will not be accepted.

  • For station awards, entries must be in the name of the station/cable/network. The names of up to five contributors be listed on station awards. Individual achievement awards should be in the name of the individual.

  • Any supporting material for an award entry is limited to one page.

  • Judges have the discretion not to declare a first- or second-place winner.

  • Identity of the judges is confidential.

  • All awards are subject to the approval of the RTDNAC Board of Directors and AP.

  • Winners will be announced at the RTDNAC/AP convention and awards luncheon on Nov. 7.

  • Winners not claiming their awards at the awards luncheon may request their awards be shipped to them at a cost of $10 per award.

  • The RTDNAC/AP Awards Committee has authority to interpret contest rules.


For a list of categories, choose one of the following options:

Online entry forms

Submitting payments

Payments using a Visa or Mastercard may be made online up until the deadline using RTDNAC's online payment system. (Other credit card payments, including American Express, cannot be accepted at this time.)

Mail checks or money orders – made payable to RTDNAC – along with one copy of the email confirmation (received upon submitting the entry) to:

RTDNAC/AP Award Entry
c/o Anthony Hatcher
Elon University
2850 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244

NOTE: Mailed payments must be postmarked by the deadline for associated entries to be judged.

Have questions?

Have a question not addressed here? Let us know.