Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2011 winner

Lauren Brigman
Appalachian State University

Lauren Brigman is from the town of Marshall near the city of Asheville, N.C. She attends Appalachian State University in Boone, where she is a junior majoring in communications with a concentration in electronic media and broadcasting. She is a member of the Heltzer Honors College and the honors program in the communications department. Lauren has earned a place on the Dean’s List every semester since Fall 2009 through the Fall 2011. She is one of 10 scholarship recipients of the Appalachian W.H. Plemmons Leader Fellows for the Class of 2013.

Lauren’s broadcasting and news experience includes serving as the station manager at WASU-FM in Boone, a position she’s held since August 2011. She also works two air shifts per week in addition to her management duties. Lauren has worked in two summer internship programs; one with the news department at ABC 13 WLOS-TV in Asheville and another with Clear Channel Radio in Asheville. She has also written for two local newspapers in Boone and Marshall. Her career goal is to be a TV news reporter.