Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2012 winner

Emily Palmer
Emily Palmer, a junior at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, was the North Carolina recipient of the 2012 Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship.

Emily Palmer
UNC-Chapel Hill

Emily Palmer, from Durham, N.C., is a junior at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, majoring in electronic communications and global studies and minoring in creative writing.

Palmer has earned a place on the Dean's List at UNC-Chapel Hill for the past four semesters, and she was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa in the 2012 fall semester.

In the summer of 2011, she was selected to participate in the Carolina Southeast Asia Summer program, in which she lived and worked in Singapore, Brunei and India. During that time, she conducted interviews with 20 Singaporean women about how they personalize their national identity. The interviews will be compiled and published.

Palmer has written for a number of campus publications and published in 2011 a self-described "Chick Lit novel" called "The Gingerbread Philosophy."

During the 2012 fall semester, she is working for "Carolina Week," a student newscast produced by the School of Journalism and Mass Communication. Palmer plans spend the 2013 spring semester in London through UNC-Chapel Hill’s Honors Semester program. She is seeking internships with electronic media outlets in London.