2012 winner

Kalina Harrison
Kalina Harrison, a senior at Claflin University, was the South Carolina recipient of the 2012 Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship.

Kalina Harrison
Claflin University

Kalina Harrison is from Atlanta and is a senior at Claflin University in Orangeburg, S.C., majoring in mass communications (digital media).

During her academic career at Claflin, she has earned a variety of awards, including the Highest Grade Point Average in her freshman class, Overall Achievement in Mass Communications, Outstanding Television Student and the Mass Communications Department Service Award.

Currently, Harrison serves as the TV station manager for WCUT, the campus closed-circuit TV station. However, she has devoted many hours of writing, editing, producing and directing to both the campus radio and TV stations.

She also hosts “Kalina’s Korner,” a magazine/talk show program for WCUT, which has given her experience in scripting and field production as well as hosting on-camera.

Harrison spent the summer of 2012 on an internship at the South Carolina Educational Television Network. Her experience at SCETV allowed her many hands-on opportunities in field production, Web production and other digital media experience.

In addition to her studies and her work in the media, Harrison finds time to serve as a mentor at the Roosevelt Gardens Boys & Girls Club in Orangeburg.