Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2013 winner

Joe Bruno
Joe Bruno holds his award for the Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship at the RTDNAC Student Workshop on Feb. 12, 2013.

Joe Bruno
Elon University

Joe Bruno, a junior at Elon University, was elected to the news director's position at Elon’s "Phoenix 14 News" as an 18-year-old sophomore and continues to serve in that position. Upon taking the reins, Joe took on the task of leading the student staff through a complete rebranding and overhaul with a goal of revitalizing Elon's local newscast.

Joe led his staff through coverage of the Democratic National Convention in Charlotte in the summer of 2012 and seven-hour live election coverage in November in addition to other major news events.

His leadership has contributed to the growth of Elon's news organization, where more than 60 students have now signed on as members. Joe’s is from Pottstown, Penn.