2014 winner

Mackenzie Roberts
Elon University

Mackenzie Roberts is a junior at Elon University, majoring in Broadcast Journalism. Her home is in Greenville, N.C.

Academically, Mackenzie has made the Dean's List at Elon in Fall 2011 and Fall 2013. She has studied abroad in Lugo, Italy, in Summer 2012 and in Seville, Spain, in Spring 2013.

Mackenzie's work experience includes serving as a reporter for "Elon Local News," a student-produced campus newscast. However, she has been known by her peers and professors to tackle whatever job needs to be done for the production of the newscast. She also has experience in high school working at a TV station in her hometown of Greenville.

Among the attributes written about Mackenzie by members of the Elon faculty who served as references for her application, she was described as "smart and engaged." "She knows how to lead and how to take direction." "Her performance has exceeded our expectations and raised the standards for all the students that follow."

Mackenzie is minoring in Spanish and Music at Elon, and she participates in a number of organized musical activities. She was the recipient of an NCAB Broadcasters Scholarship in 2011.