Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2010 winner

Kathleen Brown
Winthrop University senior Kathleen Brown, right, was the South Carolina recipient of the 2010 Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship.

Kathleen Brown
Winthrop University

Kathleen Brown is from Laurens, S.C. She is a senior at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, majoring in broadcasting communications.

The Dean's List student's experience in broadcasting includes serving two years as a deejay and announcer for Winthrop Radio, working as a sports producer for "Winthrop Close Up," a student-run news program, and an internship at WYFF-TV in Greenville, S.C. and working part-time as an associate producer in training at WCCB, FOX Charlotte.

Brown also won a scholarship from the South Carolina Broadcasters Association in 2010. She was named the Outstanding Broadcasting Communications Junior in Spring 2010. Her goal is to work professionally in the Carolinas after graduation.