Previous winners

2017 Winners

Mills Hayes
Theashionna Owens

2016 Winners

Abbey O’Brien
Jaclyn Lee

2015 Winners

Chuck Ringwalt
Meredith Stutz

Spring 2014:
Mackenzie Roberts
Tabitha Corley

Spring 2013:
Joe Bruno
Kyle Cline

Fall 2012:
Emily Palmer
Kalina Harrison

Fall 2011:
Lauren Brigman
Lisa Ellen Brown

Fall 2010:
Kathleen Brown
Drew Smith

Fall 2009:
Dannika Lewis
Jessica Lyn Silvaggio

Fall 2008:
Kevin Kline
Mason Snyder

Fall 2007:
Matthew McClellan
Adam Rhew

2010 winner

Drew Smith
Elon University senior Drew Smith, left, was the North Carolina recipient of the 2010 Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship.

Drew Smith
Elon University

Drew Smith is from Walpole, Mass. He is a senior majoring in journalism–broadcast news at Elon University.

He has held the position of news director at Phoenix14News since January 2009 and has won multiple awards for producing and anchoring during his tenure at Phoenix14News. During the summers of 2008 and 2009, he served as the news editor at “The Pendulum,” Elon University's student newspaper. Smith also held internships at NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams, WFMY News 2 in Greensboro, N.C. and New England Cable News based in Newton, Mass.

The senior journalism major is an Alexander M. Tanger Scholar awarded by the Broadcast Education Association, an Elon University Presidential Scholar and a Dr. Larry D’Angelo Scholar, also awarded by Elon University.