2019 RTDNAC/AP Awards Entry Rules

RTDNAC and The Associated Press have teamed up for an expanded awards competition, recognizing the best of TV, radio and website work in North Carolina and South Carolina.

RTDNAC recognizes the work of professionals and students in the Carolinas combined, while AP offers awards in three categories for each state.

The competition is open to all stations and individuals in the following divisions:


All stations in North Carolina and South Carolina.

TV  Division I

Stations with 20 or more full-time employees operating in these markets: Charlotte, Greensboro, Winston-Salem, High Point, Raleigh-Durham, Greenville-Spartanburg, Asheville and Columbia. Public television also competes in this division. Stations in these markets with fewer than 20 full-time news staff have the option to compete in Division II.

TV Division II

All other stations. News departments in these markets with news staffs of 20 or more full-time employees have the option of competing in Division I.


 Colleges and universities in either North Carolina or South Carolina.

  • The entry period opens Monday, May 6. The entry deadline is 8 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 1 for professionals and Wednesday, Sept. 4 for students. No exceptions.

  • The entry fee is $30 per entry for professionals and $15 per entry for students. Anyone entering the competition becomes a member of RTDNAC for one year, beginning Oct. 1.

  • For entries to be considered in the competition, online payments must be made by the deadline. Mailed payments must be postmarked by the deadline.

  • Refunds will not be issued for any reason.

  • Entries must have aired between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2019.

  • The same entry may be submitted for consideration for both RTDNAC and AP awards. An entry, however, may only be submitted in one RTDNAC category.

  • Simulcast material must be entered under the medium of origination.

  • There is no limit on the number of entries a station or school may submit in each category.

  • Unless otherwise noted, only one URL may be submitted per entry in the designated space on the online entry form. Valid URLs must be from either a station website or streaming social media site (e.g,, YouTube, Vimeo or SoundCloud), and be set for public viewing. Entries with invalid URLs or URLs that cannot be viewed by judges will automatically be disqualified.

  • Links that might require media be downloaded to a computer (e.g., Dropbox, MP3s, WMVs, etc.) will not be accepted.

  • For station awards, entries must be in the name of the station/cable/network. Up to five contributors’ names may be listed on station awards. Individual achievement awards should be in the name of the individual.

  • Unless otherwise noted, any supporting material for an award entry is limited to one page.

  • An entry’s total run-time should not exceed the time limit associated with each category.

  • Submitted entries – including the description and URL – may be changed only by the entrant until the deadline. No changes, including those to URLs, are allowed after the deadline.

  • Judges have the discretion not to declare a first- or second-place winner.

  • Identity of the judges is confidential.

  • All awards are subject to the approval of the RTDNAC Board of Directors and AP.

  • Winners will be announced at the RTDNAC/AP convention and awards luncheon.

  • Winners not claiming their awards at the luncheon may request their awards be shipped to them at a minimum cost to cover shipping.

  • The RTDNAC/AP Awards Committee has authority to interpret competition rules.


For a list of categories, choose one of the following options:

Online Entry Forms

  • RTDNAC/AP Station Entry Form

  • RTDNAC Student Entry Form

  • Margaret Murchison News Director of the Year Nomination Form

Submitting Payments

Online Credit Card Payments

Payments using Visa, MasterCard, American Express or Discover or PayPal may be made online up until the deadline using the online payment form online payment form.

Checks or Money Orders

Checks or money orders, made payable to RTDNAC, along with one copy of the email confirmation (received upon submitting the entry) must be postmarked by the deadline and mailed to:

RTDNAC/AP Award Entry
c/o Rich Landesberg
Elon University
2850 Campus Box
Elon, NC 27244

NOTE: Entries associated with payments not received or postmarked by the deadline will not be accepted.

Have Questions?

Have a question not addressed here? Let us know.